Kip

CharlotteGigs.net

Written by Kip on Friday, May 15, 2009 at 8:30 am (EDT)
Tagged as:

CharlotteGigs.net is a mostly worthless spam machine that masquerades as a local job board.  I signed up for their site when I was looking for a job, and now I can’t seem to get their junk mail to stop coming.  I have clicked the “unsubscribe” link at the bottom of their spam several times.  I continue to get this message upon doing so:

Your request to update your email options has been received and is being processed. Please note that it may take up to 10 days for the changes to take effect as there may be email messages already in progress.

Protip:  If you have to show a message like this to your users, you are doing something wrong.  Come on guys, ten days??  What are you doing, writing the request on a notarized letter and mailing it to Nigeria?

2 Comments
# Michael
May 15, 3:34 pm

Kip, one thing that I’ve employed which you may be interested in doing, since you own your domain, sign up for ANY online service with its own alias (i have decent spam filtering, so I choose to employ a catch-all).  So if I were signing up for the charlottegig site, i would use charlottegig@my_domain.com this doesn’t prevent them from spamming me, but it does 2 other Great things. 1: let’s me know who leaks/sells my information.  2: gives me an easy rule for my mail system to filter out the mail should I ever deem all of it spam.  Good luck!

# kip
May 15, 5:30 pm

Thanks, I’ve considered doing something similar to that before, but Gmail is usually good enough at filtering spam that I don’t think it’s necessary.  I typically try to “play nice” by using the unsubscribe link for first for sites that I’ve signed up for.  For this site I’ve now hit the “report spam” button in Gmail, so I probably won’t see their spam anymore.  Hopefully this post will show up on Google searches for Charlotte Gigs so I can warn some other unfortunate job seeker.

RSS feeds: Kip's - Stephanie's - Both
Admin